Pilihan Bahasa


The Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health, Selayang Hospital provides a range of psychiatric services, carries out mental health promotion, trains all levels of health care professionals and is actively involved in research.

The comprehensive range of services is provided in a number of locations. On level 2 of the hospital is located the Psychiatric ward 2C which is a gazetted ward under the Mental Health Act 2001 that provides for the treatment of voluntary and involuntary inpatients. On the same level is located the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry service also known as MeKAR that provides multidisciplinary outpatient, referral and consultation services to children and adolescents aged below 18 years. The Community Psychiatry Unit is also located on this level and it provides Hospital Based Community Psychiatry Service to patients in the community and in their homes. The outpatient Specialist Psychiatry Clinic is located on level 4 in clinics shared with the Department of Dermatology.

The department is headed by a senior consultant psychiatrist. The multidisciplinary staff consists of psychiatrists (general and subspecialty), medical officers, nurses, assistant medical officers, occupational therapists, counselors, a speech therapist and attendants. The department partners with the psychiatrists, clinical psychologists and nursing staff of the medical faculty of Universiti Teknologi MARA(UiTM) who use the department facilities for the teaching of undergraduate medical students and postgraduate Masters trainees in Psychiatry.

The department is an accredited training centre for the Conjoint Masters of Psychiatry program as well as for subspecialty training in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.